August-September 2022

Click here to download the full Newsletter

First thing, I’d like to give a great big thank you to our village employees who keep our community functioning, safe and well maintained.

Pat Coughlin, along with part time, temporary employees Mike Ross, Tom Tobin and Ron Cairns, do an outstanding job keeping our buildings, facilities, roads and grounds clean and maintained.

Daisha Nolan and Katy Hursh keep our office running smoothly and deal effectively with the daily issues that always crop up.

Jay Gallagher as our zoning administrator has done a dynamite job providing consistent application of our zoning code.

John Stack keeps our sewer system running smoothly and in compliance with state regulations.

Pete Witt as our Village Marshall deals with more issues than most people realize.

We are fortunate to have a volunteer fire department that is one of the best in the area.

I was doing some work at the rain garden by the beach this past Saturday and had three different families from outside our area stop by to chat. One couple did an early morning swim and said our swim raft was the best they had ever seen. Another family was staying at the campground and came down for a swim and told me how much they liked that campground and beach. The final group of four adults were impressed with the overall cleanliness and appearance of our downtown area.

I was very happy to hear all these positive comments about our community and I am proud to be a part of it, as should we all.

The Community Association for their work bringing our community together through all the activities they sponsor and direct.

The Lake Association for their work protecting and enhancing our beautiful lake.

Our Garden Club who beautifies our community through planting and maintaining our various garden areas. A special thank you to them and the other volunteers who have labored hard to replan the beach rain garden area after sediment removal with 2000 new plants!

And a final thank you the elected and appointed people on our boards, committees and commissions who make decisions affecting our community.

Jim Jonasen, Village President